Tardigrade Collections

Below there is a list of institutions and other places where slides with tardigrades are preserved. The list is far from complete and we'll be adding more links subsequently. In the meantime, if you know of any collections that are not listed here, please let us know and we'll add them to the list.





Australian Museum

6 College Street,
Sydney, NSW 2010,

Tel: 00612 9320 6202

Currently no information on the collection is available.

Bohart Museum of Entomology

University of California,
1124 Academic Surge,
Davis, CA 95616,

E-mail: bmuseum@ucdavis.edu
Tel: 001 (530) 752-0493
Fax: 001 (530) 752-9464

Over 23 000 slide mounted specimens, at least 300 species and 25 holotypes.

Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

Cable Street,
PO Box 467,
New Zealand

E-mail: mail@tepapa.govt.nz
Tel: 0064 (0)4 381 7000
Fax: 0064 (0)4 381 7070

Many types for species described by Schuster and Grigarick.

Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum in Frankfurt

Senckenberganlage 25
60325 Frankfurt am Main

E-mail: andreas.allspach@senckenberg.de
Tel. 0049 69 7542 1369
Fax: 0049 69 746238

Types for marine species described in:

Bussau, C. (1992) New deep-sea Tardigrada (Arthrotardigrada, Halechiniscidae) from a manganese nodule area of the eastern South Pacific. Zoologica Scripta, 21 (1): 79-91.


Swedish Museum of Natural History

P.O. Box 50007,
SE 104 05 Stockholm,

E-mail: bjorn.sohlenius@nrm.se

Currently no information on the collection is available.

Zoological Museum of the Jagiellonian University

ul. Ingardena 6,
30-060 Krakow,

E-mail: wojt@zuk.iz.uj.edu.pl
Tel: 0048 (0)12 663 24 16

Several types for species described by Węglarska, Michalczyk and Kaczmarek.

Zoological Museum of the University of Copenhagen

Universitetsparken 15,
DK-2100 Copenhagen Ø,

E-mail: rmkristensen@snm.ku.dk
Tel: 0045 35 32 11 18
Fax: 0045 35 32 10 10

A rich collection of both limno-terrestrial and marine tardigrades. Many types for species described by Thulin and Kristensen.



Copyright by Łukasz Michalczyk (2012-2017)